THE OUTLAWS release new lyric video and tour dates!

Posted on March 24, 2017 Under Uncategorized

Few bands have flown the southern rock flag for as long (and as well) as The Outlaws have done – as proven by their impressive body of work. And they continue to expand their discography, with the recent release of a killer concert recording, Legacy Live, which features rockin’ versions of such classics as “There Goes Another Love Song,” “Hurry Sundown,” “Green Grass & High Tides Forever,” and “(Ghost) Riders In The Sky.” And a lyric video for another standout from the album, “Gunsmoke” has just been unveiled:

“The song ‘Gunsmoke’ was written in late 1976,” recalls the band’s leader/singer/guitarist, Henry Paul. “It was an early attempt on my part to write lyrical imagery specifically for The Outlaws musical personality. I was honored to get the lead track position with it on the ‘Hurry Sundown’ album and I think it’s held up pretty well after all this time.”

And accompanying the album and video will be shows throughout the year, including shows in the east and south of the United States. Also featured in The Outlaws line-up (in addition to Paul) is Monte Yoho – drums, Chris Anderson – lead guitar, vocals, Randy Threet – bass, vocals, Dave Robbins – keyboards, vocals, and Steve Grisham – lead guitar, vocals.

Formed in Tampa In 1972, The Outlaws – known for their triple-guitar rock attack and three-part country harmonies – became one of the first acts signed by Clive Davis (at the urging of Ronnie Van Zant) to his then-fledgling Arista Records. The band’s first three albums The OutlawsLady In Waiting and Hurry Sundown – featuring such rock radio favorites as “There Goes Another Love Song”, “Green Grass & High Tides”, “Knoxville Girl” and “Freeborn Man” – would become worldwide gold and platinum landmarks of the Southern Rock era. Known as ‘The Florida Guitar Army’ by their fans, The Outlaws earned a formidable reputation as an incendiary live act touring with friends The Allman Brothers, Lynyrd Skynyrd, The Marshall Tucker Band and The Charlie Daniels Band as well as The Doobie Brothers, The Who, Eagles and The Rolling Stones.

Along with founding members Henry Paul and Monte Yoho, the band features several of Southern Rock’s most respected veterans: Co-lead guitarist and longtime Outlaw Chris Anderson is well known for his collaborations with artists that include Dickey Betts, Lucinda Williams, Hank Williams Jr., and Skynyrd. Steve Grisham is a former member of the Soldier Of Fortune era Outlaws, a noted songwriter whose tracks include The Henry Paul Band top 40 hit “Keeping Our Love Alive” and a co-founder of the Southern Rock all-stars Brothers Of The Southland. Keyboardist/vocalist Dave Robbins is a co-founding member of Blackhawk and has written hit songs for artists that include Restless Heart, Kenny Rogers and Eric Clapton. Bassist/vocalist Randy Threet has performed with Pam Tillis, Trisha Yearwood and Blackhawk, and is familiar to TV audiences from USA Network’s ‘Nashville Star’. “From the very beginning, our band had a heart,” Monte Yoho says, “for The Outlaws, it’s still about the music. And more than ever, it’s about live music!”

“Legacy Live” is out now through SPV/Steamhammer as a 2CD digipak, download and stream.

Tour Dates USA 2017
08 Sioux City,IA – Anthem@Hard Rock
20 Red Bank,NJ – Count Basie Theatre
21 Jim Thorpe,PA – Penn’s Peak
22 Irwin,PA – The Lamp Theatre
29 Hopewell,VA – Beacon Theatre
30 Columbia,MD – Merriweather Pavilion
21 Richardson,TX – Wildflower! Art and Music Festival
25 Augusta,NJ – Rock, Ribs and Ridges
30 Norfolk,CT – Infinity Hall
04 Clearfield,PA – Clearfield County Fair
12 Peekskill,NY – Paramount Hudson Valley Theater
30 St. Charles,MO – Family Arena